CMS published the approved Medicaid Section 1135 Waivers for multiple states. The waivers are retro-actively effective March 1, 2020 and will remain in effect until the public health emergency ends.  These approved waivers are to assist providers and the states in responding to the COVID-19 outbreak. Waivers approved for multiple states included suspending & streamlining provider-enrollment processes, allowing licensed facilities to use unlicensed alternative sites for services, limited suspension of nursing home pre-admission reviews, and suspending Medicaid prior authorization requirements.

Not all states received the same waiver approvals. Summaries of state specific CMS approved waivers are provided below.

  1. Alabama
  2. Arizona
  3. California
  4. Florida
  5. Indiana
  6. Illinois
  7. Iowa
  8. Kansas
  9. Kentucky
  10. Louisiana
  11. Mississippi
  12. Missouri
  13. New Hampshire
  14. New JerseyFlorida
  15. New Mexico
  16. North Carolina
  17. North Dakota
  18. Oklahoma
  19. Oregon
  20. Rhode Island
  21. South Dakota
  22. Washington
  23. Virginia

Advis will continue to monitor and provide additional updates. If you have any questions about the waivers or require implementation assistance please contact an expert or email a member of our COVID-19 taskforce directly.

Published: March 25, 2020